Disaster declared for Dorian damage recovery

On Monday, Sept. 30, President Trump declared a disaster for South Carolina related to Hurricane Dorian.

Federal public assistance is now available to state, local, tribal, and territorial governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities in these 11 South Carolina Dorian-affected counties:

  • Beaufort
  • Berkeley
  • Charleston
  • Colleton
  • Dillon
  • Dorchester
  • Georgetown
  • Horry
  • Jasper
  • Marion
  • Williamsburg

Please see SCEMD’s news release, which includes a link to more information about the Public Assistance Program.

If you know of government entities or private nonprofit cultural institutions/arts organizations that suffered damage from the storm, please direct them to their county emergency manager. Potential applicants may also contact SCEMD with questions about public assistance by emailing PA@emd.sc.gov or calling 803.367.7756.

All areas within the state of South Carolina are eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. This program provides assistance to State and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards.