← View All Articles

S.C. literary giants to participate in 2018 Deckle Edge Literary Festival

Have you ever caught yourself wondering whether South Carolina has successful artists? Famous artists? Any making a mark in their medium or genre? Then consider Deckle Edge Literary Festival 2018 and wonder no longer. [caption id="attachment_33843" align="alignright" width="200"] Photo by Kathy Ryan, courtesy of TerranceHayes.com[/caption] The festival announced Columbia native Terrance Hayes (right, top) as its keynote speaker this year, and Conway native and current Columbia resident Nikky Finney (right, bottom) is to receive the inaugural Deckle Edge Southern Truth Award. Among Finney's accolades is being an Elizabeth O'Neill Verner Award recipient from the Arts Commission, and she also received the 2011 National Book Award for Poetry and 1996 PEN American Open Book Award. Hayes is the current poetry editor for New York Times Magazine and has won Guggenheim, MacArthur, National Endowment for the Arts and U.S. Artists Zell fellowships. His Lighthead won the 2010 National Book Award, and How to Be Drawn was a finalist for the same. Got all that? Because we're not quite done. [caption id="attachment_33844" align="alignright" width="200"] Photo by Forrest Clonts, courtesy of NikkyFinney.net[/caption] Further Arts Commission connections abound among the authors, poets, and songwriters scheduled to participate in the scheduled panels or presentations. Julia Elliott, Scott Gould (twice), and Ed Madden are all S.C. Arts Commission Fellows, and other writers have received grants or won awards from the agency as well. In fact, it would probably be easier simply to list those who lack Arts Commission ties - but then we don't want anyone to feel left out. Go here for more information on Deckle Edge Literary Festival 2018, and go forth with the knowledge that, yes, South Carolina has amazing, accomplished artists of all disciplines. And as we continue our focus on Arts Advocacy Week, remember that public support of the arts has played a role in getting them there.

S.C. native Terrance Hayes receives prestigious MacArthur Fellowship

Congratulations to Columbia native Terrance Hayes for being named MacArthur Foundation Fellow! From The State: Terrance Hayes 2014 MacArthur Genius Award FellowCOLUMBIA, SC — Poet Terrance Hayes, 42, a native of Columbia and graduate of Coker College, has won one of the most prestigious individual development grants from the MacArthur Foundation. Hayes, whose work infuses hip-hop with the sensibility of his southern bringing that includes the legacy of Strom Thurmond, has published several volumes of poetry that addresses race, gender and family. Hayes, 42, is a professor of writing in the Department of English at the University of Pittsburgh. The "genius grant" from the MacArthur Foundation recognizes exceptional individuals doing transformative, creative work with a track record of achievement in their field and the potential for even more significant contributions in the future. Fellows each receive a no-strings-attached grant of $625,000. Hayes has a bachelor's degree from Coker College and a master's in fine arts from the University of Pittsburgh. He was affiliated with Xavier University of Louisiana and Carnegie Mellon University before joining the faculty of the University of Pittsburgh as a professor of writing in 2013. His additional publications include "Muscular Music" (1999), "Hip Logic" (2002), and the forthcoming "How to Be Drawn" (March 2015). Image courtesy of the MacArthur Foundation

South Carolina Academy of Authors offers fellowships for poetry and fiction

The South Carolina Academy of Authors invites entries for its annual fellowships in poetry and fiction. Fellows receive $1,000 and are invited to the Academy's induction ceremony on April 27 in Columbia. Fellowship applicants must be full-time South Carolina residents. There are no restrictions on content, however submitted works must unpublished. December 1 is the deadline for both competitions. The judge for the 2012 Carrie McCray Nickens Poetry Fellowship competition is Nick Lantz, author of  poetry collections "We Don’t Know We Don’t Know" (Graywolf Press, 2010) and "The Lightning That Strikes the Neighbors’ House" (University of Wisconsin Press, 2010). He is the recipient of the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference Bakeless Prize, the Felix Pollak Prize, the Great Lakes Colleges Association New Writers Award and the Larry Levis Reading Prize. He teaches creative writing at Tinker Mountain Writers’ Workshop, Queens University’s Low-Residency MFA, and at Sam Houston State University, where he is the poetry editor of the Texas Review. Mary Robison, the Fiction Fellowship judge, has been widely hailed for her biting depictions of contemporary American life since her story “Sisters” was published in The New Yorker in 1977. Since then, her stories have appeared in The Paris Review, Esquire, GQ, Harvard Magazine, The Norton Anthology of Contemporary Fiction, The Pushcart Prize and The O.Henry Prize Stories. Her novel "Why Did I Ever" won the Los Angeles Times Book prize for Fiction, and "One D.O.A., One on the Way" was chosen by The New York Times Book Review as one of the “100 Most Notable Books of the Year." Robison has received numerous awards, including a grant from the Guggenheim Foundation, and in 2009 the prestigious Rea Award For The Short Story. She teaches at the University of Florida. Visit the S.C. Academy of Authors website for application guidelines. Induction ceremony open to the public The public may purchase tickets to the induction ceremony being held April 27 in Columbia at the University of South Carolina. This year's inductees are Jack Bass, Nikky Finney, Terrance Hayes and Eugene Robinson. The Academy board selects new inductees annually whose works have been judged culturally important. Each inductee, whether living or deceased, has added to South Carolina's literary legacy by earning notable scholarly attention or achieving historical prominence. For ticket information, visit the Academy's website. [caption id="attachment_2344" align="aligncenter" width="750"]SC Academy of Authors inductees Left to right: Jack Bass, Nikky Finney, Terrance Hayes, Eugene Robinson[/caption] About the S.C. Academy of Authors The Academy's principal purpose is to identify and recognize the state's distinguished writers and to promote their literature's influence on our cultural heritage. Public recognition of our state's literary hall of fame not only serves to increase the general readership of authors working today but also leads to the rediscovery of works from the past. Via: S.C. Academy of Authors