← View All Articles

South Carolina Academy of Authors announces Fellowship recipients

SC Academy of AuthorsThe South Carolina Academy of Authors (SCAA) has announced the winners of this year’s fellowship competitions in fiction and poetry. Rachel RichardsonRachel Richardson of Spartanburg is the winner of the fourth annual SCAA Fiction Fellowship. Richardson’s short story, “Schism” was chosen by this year's judge, novelist Ann Hood, from among 30 submissions. Hood described “Schism” as “100 percent fresh and original, a unique new voice in the world of fiction. Quirky and honest, with a keen eye toward detail and the inner machinations of the human heart and mind, ‘Schism’ completely won me over from the very beginning.” Hood described the submission pool as “mostly wonderful, and at a high level of writing skill. Many times, I got lost in the story and the writing, which made it difficult to choose just one winner.” Barbara G.S. HagertyBarbara G. S. Hagerty of Charleston is the winner of the sixth annual Carrie McCray Nickens Fellowship in Poetry. Her entries were chosen by judge Traci Brimhall, who described Hargerty’s submission as evincing “an incredible command of language. I was also struck by the poems' concision--how a word pairing could pull up a startling association or how the poet's mind could leap from one line to the next. Even more than strong images, emotion, and music in the poems, there was a deep intelligence here that had me returning again and again to the poems.” Of all the submissions, she said, “There are some truly amazing poets in South Carolina. I was really blown away by the talent in the submissions. The seven finalists were especially hard to choose amongst. There were some strong voices in there, a wide range in subject matter and aesthetics, and a compelling use of language.” (Note: Hagerty received the South Carolina Arts Commission's 2011 Poetry Fellowship.) Richardson and Hagerty will each receive a $1,000 prize at a special brunch held in conjunction with the Academy's 2015 induction ceremony in Charleston on April 11-12, at which Dorothea Benton Frank, Bret Lott, Marjory Wentworth and 19th-century playwright William Ioor will be inducted into the state's literary hall of fame. The submission period for next year’s fellowships will open next autumn. For more information about the South Carolina Academy of Authors or to make reservations for the induction, please visit scacademyofauthors.org. Via: S.C. Academy of Authors  

Poetry Fellow’s work chosen for national collection

Barbara G.S. HagertyCongratulations to 2011 South Carolina Arts Commission Poetry Fellow Barbara G. S. Hagerty of Charleston, whose new work, Twinzilla, has been chosen for the Hilary Tham Capital Collection. The collection is an imprint of Word Works,  a nonprofit, independent literary organization and press based in Washington, D.C. The Hilary Tham Capital Collection publishes books by poets from across the United States. According to Word Works, Hagerty's work is "wildly musical, irreverent and ferocious." Twinzilla, a full-length poetry collection, will be published in the spring of 2014 and debut at the Association of Writers and Writing Programs conference in Seattle. Authors selected for this series work with the press not only to promote their book and the Hilary Tham Capital Collection, but also to foster the goals and activities of Word Works. Poetry societies and literary nonprofits may nominate volunteers to be invited to submit a manuscript. The next submission deadline is April 1, 2014. For more information, visit the Work Works website. Via: Word Works