Arts Daily / A Musical Tapestry of Folk & Classical Traditions

A Musical Tapestry of Folk & Classical Traditions

Montgomery: Strum
Glière: Concerto for Harp, Op.74 in E-flat Major
Rooke: The Isle is Full of Noises (The United States Premiere)
Dvořák: Symphony No. 8, Op.88

Join the Rock Hill Symphony Orchestra for their season opener on September 10th! This program focuses on folk music. The first half features a Russian harp concerto based on early Russian folk music, preceded by a work by the dynamic young composer Jessie Montgomery, Strum, which focuses on the action of striking strings. The second half of the program features Dvořák’s 8th Symphony-a work made of Czech folk music to soothe his soul as he missed home while working in NYC at the American Conservatory of Music.

Admission starting at $25