Poets, playwrights and writers: enter the Porter Fleming Literary Competition!

Entries due Feb. 5, 2016

Porter Fleming Literary CompetitionWriters age 18 and over residing in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee are eligible to apply for the Porter Fleming Literary Competition.

Entries must be original, previously unpublished in print or online media and not accepted by any publisher at the time they are entered. Manuscripts previously submitted to the Porter Fleming Literary Competition may not be resubmitted. Submit as many entries in as many categories as you wish. Entries must be postmarked no later than Feb. 5, 2016.

Competition categories:

  • Fiction – short stories only (2,500 words maximum)
  • Nonfiction – article or essay (2,500 words maximum)
  • Poetry – (up to three poems per entry, not to exceed five pages total per entry)
  • One-Act Play – (professional format required, limited to 15 pages)

Awards (cash awards in each category):

  • First Place – $1,000
  • Second Place – $500
  • Third Place – $250

View the complete guidelines, the list of 2015 winners and the application online.

Organized by the Morris Museum of Art in Augusta, Ga., the Porter Fleming Literary Competition is in its 23nd year of recognizing outstanding writing and writers. The competition honors the memory of Porter Fleming, one of Augusta’s leading citizens and foremost philanthropists.

Via: Morris Museum of Art