701 CCA opens South Carolina Biennial 2013

The 701 Center for Contemporary Art in Columbia launches its second South Carolina Biennial, a survey exhibition of work by contemporary South Carolina artists. First held in 2011, the Biennial exhibition provides a venue to showcase recent work reflecting local, regional and national trends and issues influencing contemporary artists living and working in South Carolina. The exhibition was developed to increase awareness and appreciation of the artistic contributions and accomplishments of the state’s visual artists by providing a multi-media juried statewide exhibition opportunity every two years.

Part I of Biennial 2013 will run from Sept. 5 – Oct. 20, presenting half of the artists selected by an independent jury for the exhibition. The other half will be presented in Part II, which will run from November 7 – December 22. An artists’ reception is scheduled Sept. 5 from 7 – 9 p.m. Admission to the reception is free for 701CCA members; a $5 donation is suggested for non-members.

The 25 artists included in the Biennial 2013 were selected from 123 submissions by South Carolina artists.

Part I artists: Jim Boden, Hartsville; Jeanet Dreskin^+, Greenville; Barbara Duval^*, Charleston; Jean Grosser^*, Hartsville; Susan Lenz, Columbia; Peter Lenzo^*, Columbia; Robert Lyon*, Columbia; Katy Mixon, Orangeburg; Mary Robinson, Columbia; Caroline Rust, Rock Hill; Tom Stanley^, Rock Hill; Todd Stewart, Liberty; and Valerie Zimany, Central.

Part II artists: Aldwyth^, Hilton Head; Michaela Pilar Brown, Columbia; Jim Connell^, Rock Hill; Jim Creal~, Spartanburg; Diana Farfan~, Greenville; Donna Cooper Hurt, Charleston; Nina Kawar, Clemson; Doug McAbee, Laurens; Dorothy Netherland, Charleston; Cliffton Peacock*, Charleston; Sara Schneckloth, Columbia; and David Yaghjian, Columbia.

Artists working in all media and styles were encouraged to apply in order to reflect the stylistic and cultural diversity of art produced in the state. Artists had to be a current resident of South Carolina. The jury consisted of David Furchgott of Washington, D.C., Cecelia “Ce” Scott of Charlotte, N.C., and Frank McCauley of Sumter, S.C.

Read more in this article published in the Free Times.

* S.C. Arts Commission Fellow

^ work included in the S.C. State Art Collection

Artists’ Ventures Initiative grantee

+ Elizabeth O’Neill Verner Award recipient

Via: 701CCA