2020 Mary Wheeler Davis Scholarship awarded in Spartanburg

silhouette of three graduatings tudents

Chapman Cultural Center is proud to announce it has awarded the annual Mary Wheeler Davis Scholarship to Mia Easler and Sarah Hoffman.

Chapman Cultural CenterTo honor the memory of Mary Wheeler Davis, an annual award is funded by the Mary Wheeler Davis Memorial Fund for the Promotion of the Arts, which was established in 1989. One or more scholarships are awarded annually to Spartanburg students pursuing college degrees in the visual or performing arts.

Mia Easler will graduate from Spartanburg High School this spring, and plans to start a degree in art therapy at Converse College. Sarah Hoffman will graduate from Dorman High School this spring, and will study graphic design-illustration at the University of South Carolina.

Mary Wheeler Davis felt her purpose in life was to improve the quality of life for others, especially to enhance the artistic and cultural environment of all citizens of Spartanburg County. The family of Mary Wheeler Davis has created a special trust as a memorial to her to be devoted primarily to the promotion of the arts in Spartanburg County by means of scholarships for studies in the performing and visual arts.

Learn more about this year’s winners and how to apply for next year.

Photo by Shopify Partners from Burst